Grain-based foods, the pyramid focuses on healthy eating and showing how much to serve per meals in which one consumes.  Each group of foods is nutritious and provides the recommended servings for ultimate health.  The foundation consists of breads, cereal, rice, and pasta group (carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals, and fibers), while level 2 is comprised of vegetables and fruit (vitamins, minerals, fibers, and low in fat).  The next two that rounds off the top of the pyramid are very crucial because they provide the body with protein, calcium, iron, zinc, and other nutrients.  Keep in mind that the top group is high in fat and cholesterol which should be eaten sparingly.

Food Pyramid Guide


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s